By Dean Franks, senior vice president for congressional relations, ARTBA

House Democrats Dec. 3 voted to replace retiring Appropriations Committee Chairman Nita Lowey (D-N.Y.) with Rep. Rosa DeLauro (D-Conn.).  With Democrats remaining in the majority in the House, the 15-term Congresswoman will take the helm of the powerful committee that oversees the passage of the 12 annual spending bills when the new Congress is sworn in Jan. 5, 2021.

DeLauro has been a strong supporter of infrastructure spending and financing throughout her 30 years in Congress. She has previously introduced and pushed legislation to create a national infrastructure bank and supported every surface transportation authorization law since 1991.   

ARTBA will continue to work with all appropriations members and staff to ensure both annual authorized spending levels are met and additional supplemental funding is allocated for transportation investments.

ABOVE: Rep. DeLauro at 2012 event supporting federal infrastructure investment. Photo from DeLauro’s congressional website.