Peter Kiewit, Jim Peterson, Norm Mineta and the Roebling Family are the 2020 inductees into the ARTBA Foundation’s Transportation Development Hall of Fame.

Launched a decade ago, the Hall “honors individuals or families from the public and private sectors who have made extraordinary contributions to U.S. transportation development during their careers.” Nominees are considered in two categories: Transportation Design & Construction Industry Leaders (Individuals or Families), and Transportation Design & Construction Industry Innovators.

This year’s inductees:

Leader: Peter Kiewit (1900-1979) 

Peter Kiewit transformed a small Omaha, Neb., construction company, Peter Kiewit Sons’, Inc., into one of North America’s largest and most respected contractors. In 1931, at the age of 30, Kiewit became president of the company. Under his leadership, the firm built more lane miles of the original System than any other contractor, prompting Forbes magazine to call him the “Colossus of Roads.”

Leader: Norm Mineta (1931-) 

Norman Y. Mineta began his public life as a member of his city council and then mayor of San Jose, Calif.  In the U.S. House of Representatives, he chaired the Aviation & Surface Transportation Subcommittees, rising to become chairman of the Public Works & Transportation Committee. In 1991, he was the principal author of the Intermodal Surface Transportation Efficiency Act (ISTEA), which provided a then record federal surface transportation investment. In 2000, President Bill Clinton appointed him U.S. Commerce Secretary, making him the nation’s first Asian-American Cabinet member. Following his retirement, he established the Mineta Transportation Institute at San Jose University.

Leader: Jim Peterson (1936-) 

Jim Peterson, vice president, Wisconsin-based James Peterson Sons, Inc., has been a national, state and local transportation construction advocate for more than 50 years. Peterson has made many notable impacts on Wisconsin’s transportation policy development and is a two-time Wisconsin Transportation Builders Association president (1980 & 2006). At the national level, Jim was 2003 chairman of The Road Information Program (TRIP). He’s been an ARTBA director for decades and the 2000 Contractors Division president.  He’s also a recipient of the Nello Teer Award, ARTBA Contractors Division’s highest honor.

Innovators: The Roebling Family

The story of the Roebling family—John (1806-1869), Washington (1837-1926) and Emily Warren (1843-1903)—is one of bravery, heroism, and triumph over great obstacles.  Without this famous family, the iconic Brooklyn Bridge might not have come to pass.

Read the family’s story, see more details about this year’s other inductees, and learn about past recipients at the Hall of Fame webpage.

PHOTOS: Left to right: Peter Kiewit, Norm Mineta, Jim Peterson and the Roebling Family (from top: John, Washington, and Emily Warren).