By Quintin McClellan, research specialist, ARTBA

The 2020 Council of University Transportation Centers (CUTC) Awards Banquet, Jan. 11 in Washington, D.C., will celebrate the outstanding contributions of students and faculty to transportation research and education. The honorees include students, educators, and a lifetime transportation industry advocate. Here are the featured winners:

Professional and Leadership Awards

  • Grace Crunican, a Mineta Transportation Institute trustee, CUTC Lifetime Achievement Award for Transportation Professional and Public Service: Honors individuals who have contributed to transportation research and education throughout their professional and public lives..
  • Chris Hendrickson of Carnegie Mellon University, CUTC-HNTB Lifetime Achievement Award for University Transportation Education and Research: Honor individuals with a long history of significant and outstanding contributions to university transportation education and research resulting in lasting improvements.
  • The University of Nebraska-Lincoln, CUTC Workforce Development and Technology Transfer Leadership Award: Honors an institution that demonstrates outstanding leadership in designing and delivering workforce development and technology transfer programs.
  • Ilgin Guler of Penn State University, CUTC-Cambridge Systematics New Faculty Award: Presented to tenure-track educators in recognition of outstanding teaching and research contributions.
  • Janet Leli of Rutgers University is awarded the CUTC-ARTBA Award for Administrative Leadership: Honors individuals in a staff or non-tenure-track faculty position who have made outstanding administrative leadership contributions to the field of transportation.

Student Awards

  • Sikai Chen of Purdue University and Mdhasibur Rahman of University of Central Florida, Milton Pikarsky Memorial Awards: Presented to two graduate students in the transportation field for the best doctoral dissertation and M.S. thesis with an emphasis on science and technology.
  • Peter Webb of University of New Orleans and Theodora Konstantinou of Purdue University, Charley V. Wootan Memorial Awards: Presented to two graduate students in the transportation field for the best doctoral dissertation and M.S. thesis with an emphasis on policy and planning.
  • Jacob Wasserman of University of California, Los Angeles and Manoj Gedela of the University of Texas at Austin, Neville A. Parker Awards: Recognize the best non-thesis paper in the field of policy, planning, science, and technology in transportation studies.

In addition to these individuals, dozens of other outstanding students from University Transportation Centers across America will be honored for their achievements and promise of future contributions to the field.

Diana Furchtgott-Roth, deputy assistant secretary at the U.S. Department of Transportation, will deliver the keynote address.

We invite you join approximately 300 distinguished transportation leaders, representing academia, private industry, and government at the 2020 Awards Banquet. The event reception begins at 5 p.m., Jan. 11, at the Marriott Marquis Washington, followed by the banquet and awards program.

Please visit the 2020 Banquet event page to register and find more information.