By Eileen Houlihan, senior writer/editor, ARTBA

ARTBA’s Transportation Development Foundation (ARTBA-TDF) sponsors professional recognition programs for transportation design and construction projects; individuals and families involved in U.S. transportation development; and a scholarship for children of highway workers killed or permanently disabled on the job. These programs have important April deadlines:

  • The Lanford Family Highway Worker Memorial Scholarship Program was established in 1999 with a gift from two Roanoke, Virginia, highway contractors, and former ARTBA chairmen, Stan Lanford (1999) and Jack Lanford (1991). About 100 highway workers are killed annually in roadway construction and maintenance accidents, and thousands more are seriously injured. The deadline for 2019 scholarship applications is April 5. If you have a lead on a student who could benefit from the program, please contact me at
  • The Globe Awards recognize private-sector firms and public-sector transportation agencies that do an outstanding job in protecting and/or enhancing the natural environment in the planning, design and construction of U.S. transportation infrastructure projects, or transportation construction-related product manufacturers and material suppliers that utilize exemplary environmental processes to protect or enhance the natural environment. The nomination deadline is April 8.
  • The Transportation Development Hall of Fame recognizes individuals or families from the public and private sectors who have made extraordinary contributions to U.S. transportation development over their lifetime and demonstrated exceptional leadership. Nominations are considered in two categories; Transportation Design & Construction Industry Innovators and Transportation Design & Construction Industry Leaders (Individuals or Families). The nomination deadline is April 10.

Applications and nomination forms for all of our awards programs are available at

Winners of the Globe Awards will be announced at a Foundation awards luncheon on May 14 in the Nation’s Capital. Scholarship recipients and Hall of Fame inductees will also be announced in May.