John C. May has been named president and chief operating officer of Deere & Co. effective April 1. He has been with the ARTBA member firm since 1997 and joined the senior management team in 2012 as president, agricultural solutions and chief information officer.

May takes half of the titles currently held by chairman and CEO Samuel R. Allen. Allen was named Deere president and CEO in August 2009, after being named president and COO and a member of the Deere board in June 2009. Last year, May was named president, Worldwide Agriculture & Turf Division, with responsibility for the Americas and Australia, the global harvesting, turf and utility, and crop care platforms, and the intelligent-solutions group.

In a release, Deere announced the promotions of three other leaders.