Paula Hammond and Tim Duit

By Mark Holan, editorial director, ARTBA

ARTBA’s “Project 2019 Reauthorization Task Force” March 13 held its first organizational conference to begin developing a legislative blueprint for the next federal highway and public transit bill, due in 2020.

2019 ARTBA Chairman Bob Alger, president and CEO of The Lane Construction Corporation, announced the group’s creation back in January. It is being co-chaired by Paula Hammond, a WSP USA senior vice president and national transportation market leader based in Seattle, and Tim Duit, president of Oklahoma-based Duit Construction Co. Both Hammond and Duit are ARTBA vice chairs at-large.

Original plans called for the task force to release its recommendations at the ARTBA National Convention in Savannah, Ga., this fall.  But events on Capitol Hill are driving an expedited schedule.

“We’ve begun 2019 with a flurry of activity,” said ARTBA President and CEO Dave Bauer, noting several transportation-related hearings in the House and Senate, the release of President Donald Trump’s FY 2020 budget proposal, and requests from congressional transportation committees for recommendations relating to FAST Act’s reauthorization.

“The administration’s budget has opened the door to doing reauthorization and an infrastructure package,” Bauer said. “We are going to take movement where we can get it.”

Duit said subgroups would be working in the coming weeks to further refine and develop policy proposals in a variety of areas. The task force will hold an in-person meeting April 10 at WSP’s offices in Denver. Duit said all of the task force’s recommendations would be circulated to the respective membership divisions for review and feedback.

Hammond said the task force will strive for “balanced recommendations that the entire membership can stand behind.”  Bauer added the goal is for the ARTBA board to approve a final report during its May meeting in the Nation’s Capital.

Current task force members include:

Co-chair appointments

  • Steve McGough, HCSS
  • Shant Boyagian, Nossaman, LLP
  • Andrew Dohrmann, T.Y. Lin International Group

Planning & Design Division

  • Tom O’Grady, HNTB
  • Sofia Berger, Louis Berger

Materials & Services Division

  • John Hay, CRH Americas Materials
  • Janet Kavinoky, Vulcan Materials

Transportation Officials Division

  • Paul Gruner, Montgomery County (Ohio) Engineer’s Office
  • Scott Bennett, Arkansas Department of Transportation

Contractors Division

  • Dave Zanetell, Kraemer North America
  • Joe Cutillo, Sterling Construction

Public Private Partnerships Division

  • Jennifer Aument, Transurban
  • Joe Wingerter, Kiewit

State Contractor Chapters

  • Ananth Prasad, Florida Transportation Builders’ Association
  • Denise Richardson, General Contractors Association of New York
  • Bobby Stem, Association of Oklahoma General Contractors
  • Chuck Niederriter, Associated Pennsylvania Constructors
  • Amy Hall, Ohio Contractors Association

Research & Education Division

  • Hilary Nixon, Mineta Transportation Institute

Traffic Safety Industry Division

  • Dan Hickey, 3M
  • Gregg Mitchell, Trinity Industries

Manufacturers Division

  • Stacy Carlson, Caterpillar Inc.
  • Chris Myers, Caterpillar Inc.
  • Miles Chiotti, Deere & Company
  • Kate Fox Wood, Association of Equipment Manufacturers