T&I Committee Chairman Peter DeFazio (D-Ore.), left, and Ranking Member Sam Graves (R-Mo.)

By Dean Franks, senior vice president, congressional relations, ARTBA

House Transportation & Infrastructure (T&I) Committee Chairman Peter DeFazio (D-Ore.) and Ranking Republican Sam Graves (R-Mo.) Jan. 16 welcomed 24 new members. They join 43 returning members.

The T&I Committee handles nearly all transportation policy in the House and is charged with writing the next surface transportation reauthorization law. The committee will likely lead the efforts on any infrastructure legislation this year.

Rep. Rodney Davis (R-Ill.) will serve as ranking member of the Highways & Transit Subcommittee in 2019 and 2020. Davis has been an ally to ARTBA since coming to Congress in 2013. He has been vocal about the need to find a new revenue solution to address the impending Highway Trust Fund shortfall.

ARTBA staff will meet with all the new T&I Committee members in the coming weeks and continue to work with the returning members. See the full committee roster, indicating new members and subcommittee ranking members named by Graves.