By Eileen Houlihan, senior writer/editor, ARTBA

ARTBA recognized transportation design and construction industry leaders with division awards on Oct. 1 at the association’s National Convention in New York City. The association announced the following honorees:

Nello L. Teer, Jr.: John McCaskie, chief engineer (retired), Swank Construction Company, LLC, New Kensington, Pa.

Created in 1988 as a tribute to contractor and past ARTBA Chairman (1959-61) Nello L. Teer, Jr., the award honors a member who has made outstanding contributions to the association’s Contractors Division and the transportation construction industry.

Guy Kelcey: Doug LaVoie, senior vice president, CDM Smith, Lansing, Mich.

The award honors Guy Kelcey, one of the Planning & Design (P&D) Division’s organizers. It is given each year to a member who has exhibited a high degree of service to the association’s P&D Division.

Paul F. Phelan Memorial: Jim Fehsenfeld, CEO, Heritage Construction & Materials, Indianapolis, Ind.

Established in 1971, this award is given annually in recognition of outstanding contributions to the Materials & Services Division and the transportation construction industry as a whole.

In January, ARTBA presented Dr. Ram M. Pendyala, professor of transportation systems in the civil, environmental, and sustainable engineering program at Arizona State University in Tempe with the S.S. Steinberg award, created in honor of Steinberg, the founding president of the Research and Education Division. In July, Gene Hawkins, professor in the Zachry Department of Civil Engineering at Texas A&M University, and retired ORAFOL Americas leader Tom Flaherty received John “Jake” Landen Memorial Highway Safety Awards,in memory of Traffic Safety Industry Division leader and past ARTBA Chairman (1976) J.C. Landen. The award recognizes outstanding contributions to highway safety. Hawkins was honored for his work in the public sector work; Flaherty in the private sector.