By Eileen Houlihan, senior writer/editor, ARTBA

Thirteen children of highway workers who were killed or permanently disabled on the job will receive post-high school financial assistance for the 2018-19 school year from the ARTBA Foundation’s “Lanford Family Highway Worker Memorial Scholarship” fund.

Over the past 18 years, more than 160 scholarships have been given to students from 28 states. The scholarships help pay for undergraduate and graduate courses, as well as technical training.

The 2018 class includes:

  • Caitlyn Rains, Proctor, Ark., Arkansas State University
  • Stan Jones, Jr., Gaston, S.C., Clemson University
  • Willie Blevins, Athens, Ga., University of Georgia
  • Amy McNeil Graves, Lumberton, Texas, Lamar State College Port Arthur
  • Misty McNeil, Lumberton, Texas, Lamar Institute of Technology
  • Victoria Markle, Port Charlotte, Fla., Florida Gulf Coast University
  • Kristen Jares, West, Texas, University of Mary Hardin-Baylor
  • Hadley Voudrie, Trussville, Ala., Jefferson State Community College
  • Carolyn Lillis, Philomath, Ore., George Fox University
  • Mashawn Blubaugh, Howard, Ohio, Kent State University
  • Jacob Schwarz, Monee, Ill., Columbia College Chicago
  • Kaitlyn Henry, Dennison, Ohio, Ball State University
  • Andrea Pair, Spiro, Okla., Harding University College of Pharmacy.

Read more details about the students.

The scholarship program was established in 1999 with a gift from two Roanoke, Virginia, highway contractors, and former ARTBA chairmen, Stan Lanford (1999) and Jack Lanford (1991). About 100 highway workers are killed annually in roadway construction and maintenance accidents, and thousands more are seriously injured.

The ARTBA-TDF is interested in receiving contact leads on students who could benefit from the scholarship program. Please contact ARTBA’s Eileen Houlihan at or 202.683.1019.