Top row, left to right: Misty McNeil, Willie Blevins, Victoria Markle, and Kristen Jares. Middle row, l to r: Kaitlyn Henry, Caitlyn Rains, and Andrea Pair. Bottom row, l to r: Amy McNeil Graves, Stan Jones, Cirar Butler, and Emily Jones

By Eileen Houlihan, senior writer/editor, ARTBA

Eleven children of highway workers who were killed on the job will receive college financial assistance for the 2017-18 school year from the ARTBA Transportation Development Foundation’s (ARTBA-TDF) Lanford Family Highway Worker Memorial Scholarship fund.

About 100 highway workers are killed annually in roadway construction and maintenance accidents, and thousands more are seriously injured. Over the past 17 years, more than 130 scholarships have been given to students from 25 states to pursue college and technical training.

The scholarship program was established in 1999 with a gift from two Roanoke, Virginia, highway contractors and their companies—Stan Lanford (1999 ARTBA chairman) of Lanford Brothers, and Jack Lanford (1991 ARTBA chairman), with Adams Construction Company.

The 2017 class scholarship winners are:

  • Caitlyn Rains, Proctor, Ark., University of Central Arkansas
  • Misty McNeil, Kountze, Texas, Lamar Institute of Technology
  • Amy McNeil Graves, Lumberton, Texas, Lamar State College
  • Kaitlyn Henry, Dennison, Ohio, Ohio University
  • Andrea Pair, Spiro, Okla., Northeastern State University
  • Victoria Markle, Port Charlotte, Fla., Florida Gulf Coast University
  • Cirar Butler, Gunnison, Miss., Coahoma Community College
  • Kristen Jares, West, Texas, University of Mary Hardin-Baylor
  • Standra Jones, Jr., Gaston, S.C., Clemson University
  • Willie Blevins, Commerce, Ga., University of North Georgia
  • Emily Jones, Billings, Mont., Montana State University

Read more details about the 11 students.

The ARTBA-TDF is interested in receiving contact leads on students who could benefit from the scholarship program. Please share them at or 202.289.4434.