David Walls, left, and Ross Myers, are co-chairmen of the SCTPP Commission.

By Eileen Houlihan, senior writer/editor, ARTBA

ARTBA has announced the formation of an independent commission to guide the implementation of the new, industry-developed “Safety Certification for Transportation Project Professionals™” (SCTPP) program. It is a high profile group.

The SCTPP Commission will be led by the chief executive officers of two of the largest transportation construction firms in the United States. Both are passionate safety advocates.

David Walls, president & CEO of Austin Industries, based in Dallas, Texas, and Ross Myers, chairman & CEO of Allan Myers, based in Worcester, Pennsylvania, accepted appointments as co-chairs of the commission. Austin Industries has a $2 billion annual work volume and 7,000 employee-owners. Allan Myers is the largest civil construction and materials firm in the Mid-Atlantic region, employing 2,000 men and women.

The nine-member SCTPP Commission met in Dallas in April and established operational policies to guide the certification program. Commissioners will provides leadership, governance and on-going oversight as the program, which launches nationwide in October 2016, moves forward.

Joining Walls and Myers as SCTPP commissioners are top leaders from the transportation project planning, design and materials sectors, government, organized labor, and the trucking and insurance industries. They are:

  • Deputy Secretary of the U.S. Department of Transportation Victor Mendez;
  • WSP│Parsons Brinckerhoff President & CEO for the U.S. Central & South America Greg Kelly;
  • Ash Grove President & COO Randy Vance;
  • Recently retired Texas Department of Transportation Occupational Safety & Health Director Jerral Wyer;
  • Laborers’ International Union of North America Training & Education Fund National Apprentice Director James Urtz;
  • Cargo Transporters Inc. Director of Safety Jerry Waddell; and
  • Liberty Mutual Insurance Group Technical Director of Risk Control Services Don Tolbert.

Ex-officio, non-voting members of the commission include:

  • Zachry Corporation President & CEO David Zachry, who is also the 2016 ARTBA chairman;
  • Astec Industries Executive Vice President & COO Rick Dorris;
  • HNTB Holdings, Ltd. President Paul Yarossi;
  • ARTBA President & CEO Pete Ruane; and
  • ARTBA Executive Vice President & COO Bill Toohey.

Read more about all 14 commission members.

The SCTPP program is aimed at the thousands of transportation project supervisors, foremen, inspectors, project planners and designers who could make a huge, industry-wide safety impact by learning core competencies necessary to identify and mitigate potentially life-threatening on-site risks.

It is also intended to create a “safety benchmark” for all future civil engineering and construction management program graduates who are interested in employment with industry-leading firms.

The SCTPP program vision is to ensure the safety and well-being of construction workers, motorists, truck drivers, pedestrians and cyclists and their families by making transportation project sites world-wide zero safety incident zones. It has been designed to meet the rigorous protocols required for accreditation by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) and the International Organization for Standardization ISO/IEC 17024.

Top safety leaders developed the program, identifying the target audience and core competencies to be tested and creating of the exam questions.

They include representatives from:  Zachry Construction, Lane Construction, Granite Construction, the Kiewit Infrastructure Group, Oldcastle Materials, the Vecellio Group, Barriere Construction, Superior Construction, Liberty Mutual Insurance, the Arch Insurance Group, the Laborers’ Health & Safety Fund of North America, the Texas Department of Transportation, the National Institute for Occupational Safety & Health, Virginia Tech, The Center for Construction Research & Training, Plastic Safety Systems, InVia Pavement Technologies, and Mobile Barriers.

To learn more about the SCTPP program and to access “FAQs,” visit www.puttingsafetyfirst.org, or contact ARTBA Senior Vice President of Safety & Education Brad Sant (bsant@artba.org) at 202.289.4434.

The SCTPP program is a project of the ARTBA Transportation Development Foundation, a 501(c)(3) tax-exempt entity established in 1985 that supports a wide portfolio of research, education and public awareness programs and activities.