Dave Bauer, senior vice president of government affairs, ARTBA

Senate Environment & Public Works (EPW) Committee Chairman Jim Inhofe (R-Okla.) and Ranking Member Barbara Boxer (D-Calif.) May 13 announced the panel will act on legislation to reauthorize the federal highway program in June.  “Without Congressional action by May 31, vital projects across the nation will come to a grinding halt,” Inhofe and Boxer said in a joint statement. “This is unacceptable, and we owe it to our nation’s economy to send a strong signal that Congress is going to maintain the backbone of America’s commerce and national security.”

The EPW Committee leaders’ decision comes as the congressional leadership and tax committees have largely turned their attention away from a long-term transportation bill and funding plan to instead focus on another temporary extension/HTF patch.  In a reference to the current paralysis on moving forward with a long-term HTF revenue plan, Boxer and Inhofe noted, “We can no longer wait on Congress.”