As expected, Senate Republicans and Democrats and House Republicans chose last week to retain their leadership teams. House Republicans awarded John Boehner (R-Ohio) his third term as Speaker of the House—Boehner must be officially approved by the full House on the first day of the 2015 congressional session. House Majority Leader Kevin McCarthy (R-Calif.) and Majority Whip Steve Scalise (R-La.) will continue their positions next year.

Across Capitol Hill, the Republican and Democratic leadership teams will be the same, but in significantly different roles. Republicans will have at least a three-vote majority in the chamber beginning in 2015. Sen. Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.) will be the Senate Majority Leader in 2015 and Sen. John Cornyn (R-Texas.) will be the next Majority Whip. Despite some Democrat’s dissatisfaction with their party’s losses in the 2014 elections, current Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid (D-Nev.) will continue to lead the Senate Democrats in 2015 and Sen. Dick Durbin (D-Ill.) will be the Minority Whip.

House Democrats will elect their leaders for the next congressional session this week. Leadership positions at the Committee level will be decided in both chambers over the coming weeks and we will keep you apprised of changes on the relevant transportation committees.