The New Hampshire House April 23 passed a 4.2 cents-per-gallon gasoline tax increase by a 193-141 vote.  The bill, which previously passed in the Senate, heads to Governor Maggie Hassan (D) for her signature.

“Today’s vote represents an important step toward addressing our transportation needs,” Hassan said. “I look forward to signing this bipartisan legislation into law so we can keep New Hampshire’s economy moving forward by advancing critical road and bridge projects and finishing the long-overdue expansion of I-93.”

The bill is projected to generate about $32 million for the state’s transportation improvement program.

New Hampshire’s gasoline tax has not been increased since 1991, and the new law will raise the state gasoline tax from 18 cents-per-gallon to 22.2 cents-per-gallon.

To receive similar updates on other state transportation developments from ARTBA’s Transportation Investment Advocacy Center (TIAC), visit its blog site.